What Should I Do Now?

Well, NaNoWriMo is over and I’m feeling the post NaNo let down.  I have the constant feeling I should be writing something.  Perhaps another novel maybe a short story or two.  Perhaps what I should be doing is editing my novel.

 

Now that I’ve invested all this time and effort into this project it seems a waste to simply let it sit in my computer never again to see the light of day.  I nagged by the question of how I can get this novel published.  Writing for myself is one thing.  In fact, writing for myself has been something I’ve done my whole life.  I wonder if it’s worth showing to the rest of the world?

 

From the outside the publishing industry seems impenetrable.  It to be a monolith of rejection and intimidation.  I envision a lone individual standing before a huge office tower that has no windows or doors.  Try as he might there is no way into the industry.  The few who pass into tower do so by sheer luck, determination or by knowing someone on the inside.  Lacking luck or a relationship with an insider, I’m forced to use determination.  Hopefully that’s enough.  It’s hard to tell.

 

At any rate, I plan to edit my novel over the next month and enter into the mysterious world of publishing.  Perhaps my novel is good enough.  Perhaps not.  The only way to know is through trial and error.

 

I wondered how I should use this blog once I completed NaNoWriMo.  That answer has now become evident.  This will serve as a journal of exploration into the publishing world.  I hope you want to come along for the adventure.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

