Cancel- an excerpt from my novel

The following is an excerpt from my novel.  I’m curious to know if anyone has any opinion of this sample.  Would you like to read more?  Does it capture your attention?  Please let me know.

 

Cancel

 

The riding lawnmower used by the crew of the parks and recreation department of the city of Hamilton was fifteen years old. It started working at Gage Park the same day as Parker Rose. He grew up with that machine. Parker graduated from Delta High School with the hope of never entering a classroom again. Much to the chagrin of his parents, Parker was able to get a full-time job with the city through the efforts of his high school guidance counsellor. It was the one and only time he found school to be a help.

Parker was inquisitive. That was more a hinderance than a help in school. High school wasn’t a place for inquiry. It was a place to imbibe the knowledge of social acceptability. As long as he didn’t ask questions he was left to himself. When he found something to be interesting, like the section he took on nuclear physics, he quickly learned that questions were a hindrance to good grades. He kept asking his physics teacher, Mr. Barrow, ‘why’? Why are protons, neutrons and electrons the smallest known particles? What are they made of? What makes the protons positive and electrons negative? Why would that be enough to hold them together? What about those quarks you mentioned, with all those flavors? In utter frustration Mr. Barrow finally told him, “Shut up and learn what you’re supposed to.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cancel- an excerpt from my novel

  1. I like Parker’s character already – I was always told to stop asking questions …. I’d read more of it.

  2. vanyieck says:

    Thanks. I may post some more later on.

  3. Leigh Barlow says:

    I liked the writing style – very easy to read and none of the obvious mistakes. Not enough to comment on stories or characters, but a slightly intriguing excerpt.

Leave a Reply

