I want to make sure this works

I’m still new to the whole blog thing, so I thought I’d try a post in this page and see what happens.  I’ve been watching the movie X-Men: The Last Stand.  The mutants have decided to take their place as the dominant forces on the planet.  The argument being that they’re the next stage in human evolution.

 

Far be it for me to take issue with science fiction, the important term being fiction, but I’m a firm believer that every story is didactic.  Moreover, we’re known by the stories we tell.  Movies like X-Men (and Star Trek, for that matter) that focus on human evolution to higher levels of existence are simply the modern myths of humanism.  I am not a humanist.  I don’t believe humanity is rising to new levels of tolerance and peace.  If anything, like the utopians of the late 18th and early 19th centuries, we’re lulling ourselves into a false sense our own ability.  What ultimately ended the utopian dreams of the past was the onset of the World War One.  The terrors of that war shook the world back into the reality of our most horrible potential.  We cannot save ourselves because, despite our arrogant hope in our own nature, we are unable to rise above our lowest common denominator.  We are, at very best, the worst of our society.

More thoughts on this later…

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in current events, humanism, philosophy, theology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

