Painting and writing

Tonight I tried to paint artistically for the first time ever. Admittedly, years of enjoying local art galleries has lulled me into a false sense that it could be remotely simple. I’ve already realized that realism is beyond my limited abilities. Of course, I’m not that into realism. I’m more into Van Gogh’s use of color and Lawren Harris’ bold paint strokes and landscapes. That being said, I’m not really able to paint like either.

My first subject is a stained glass window that is in my kitchen. I’ve taken a few artistic liberties and I’ve already learned a lesson or two. The first may be the most important. I’ve discovered that painting doesn’t produce immediate gratification. It’ll take a few days to complete my little masterpiece. One color of paint needs to dry before applying another. Oh, and I’m trying to use lighting to create a focal point and shade.

The other thing I’ve learned is that in even the most simple of pieces there is amazing complexity. This isn’t to suggest that I’ll actually accomplish what I’ve intended to produce. But I can paint and repaint as often as I need until I’m satisfied.

Although the medium is altogether different the process is remarkably similar to writing.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in creative process, creativity, painter, painting, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Painting and writing

  1. In my Hamilton ward 4 neighborhood there are
    painters and writers. They ascribe to their
    craft mainly on the walls, windows and doors
    of the homes and businesses along the alley.

    Although the medium is altogether different,
    and I don’t know if they’ve accomplished
    what they’ve intended to produce, I’m
    certain they can paint and repaint
    as often as they need to until
    they’re satisfied.

    As each of us seeks to vessel our art form
    we learn through the process how best to
    convey our voyages, one word stroke aft
    a time until the canvas is wrinkly dry.

    Our daughter is not a graffiti artist nor
    is she a tag-teen amongst the teeming of
    Hamilton’s careening youth culture. She’s
    a student of fine arts and humanities at
    McMaster’s University. What differentiates
    between an eager for expression art student
    and that of a child’s stealthily instituting
    crafted anarchy? Considering both PRE and POST
    IT is their worldly VIEWS which matter the most!

Leave a Reply

