Plugged in and still tuned out

The more plugged in I am, the less connection I feel to the world. I subscribe to podcasts, youtube, listen to an ipod, surf the internet and watch cable TV. I read. I see pundits and experts who tell me what to think and how to react to the latest earth-shaking events. There are a lot of people talking, but no real conversations.

I can’t help but wonder if all this technology is really helping bring the world together. I lorg for face-to-face coffee klatches. A chat over a tea on the porch. Those are real encounters with human beings, opportunities to see the reactions and expressions of those people in the real world.

I guess what I’m saying is I’m not really that old. I just feel old.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in coffee, conversation, ipod, podcast, relationship, technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

