Conundrum

In my mind I made a writing plan for the summer. Last year I wrote a first draft of a novel entitled “Cancel”. Through the winter I’d continued my “Rembrandt Parables”. For the sake of variety and to keep things fresh, I decided to spend the months of July and August editing “Cancel”.

Today it’s July 3rd and I’m still writing “Rembrandt Parables”. When I finish one story another workable idea seems to come. Yesterday I was working on a story when another “Rembrandt Parable” idea flashed through my mind. I quickly wrote it down and returned to the original story. There doesn’t seem to be a convenient pause in this series. I want to work on my novel, but I also don’t want to take a break from the Rembrandt while I’m on a roll.

What to do, what to do.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in author, book, Cancel, creativity, novel, Rembrandt Parables, short story, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conundrum

  1. How about a schedule to help you with your writing assignments. I once read about a writer with the same problem whose husband devised a task list for her. He was able to look at it objectively and organise her day and assignments into manageable pieces.

  2. jenniferneri says:

    Personally, when I am in this sort of situation I just go with it. If it needs to be told, it needs to be told. If I can’t get it out, it sits and swelters and takes over.

Leave a Reply

