Shock and horror

Now that I’m a member of a writer’s guild, I figured it was time to submit my first Rembrandt story to their scrutiny. I realize it’s arrogance, but I assumed my story is better than it actually is. The first response brought quite a shock. I imagined that people would tell me how wonderful my writing is and that I certainly should have my story published. Reality shattered my myopic little dream when the person actually critically evaluated my story. As it turns out, it needs work. A significant amount. In it’s current form, publication isn’t even an option. This writing thing just got a whole lot harder.

I do realize that this person is helping me improve as a writer. I appreciate the honest feedback. I just didn’t expect the shock to my ego. Upon reflection, it was a necessary blow.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in anxiety, author, criticism, editing, ego, publication, shock, writer's guild, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shock and horror

  1. jenniferneri says:

    All feedback must be taken with a grain of salt. What one sees, another does not.
    “publication isn’t even an option. This writing thing just got a whole lot harder.
    Publication will come when it is your time, and you strive for it. And writing is a continuous learning process. Your skin will toughen, I promise 🙂

  2. Be encouraged by this: even if you’re told it needs a lot of work, it’s better than being sent away with a warning never to try to write again.

  3. Joseph says:

    When I read this I couldn’t help feeling that something was wrong. You’ve only just joined that group. You’ve been bold enough to read them a story and they’ve not really listened. Instead they’ve told you about the story they think you should have written. I think they’ve spoken too soon. Listening to your story is only the first stage. Helping you achieve your full potential as a writer should come much later on. It needs to be a mutual process and it takes trust. Before you feel that trust you should take their comments with a grain of salt, as Jennifer said. Their comments could take you in altogether the wrong direction. Because of the comment you made here, I read the story you posted. I think it’s doing what you want it to do. You took a lot of confidence into that group. Don’t lose it because of them. Think about why you felt so confident. You know you are succeeding at a certain level. Focus on that.

    • vanyieck says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. I’ll continue to focus on the purpose for my stories. They’re a little unusual, but they are succeeding in their intended purpose. I appreciate the comment.

  4. jenniferneri says:

    sorry to take more space, but I was reading Joseph’s comment, and I just wanted to say that I think it’s fantastic and inspirational.

Leave a Reply

