It happened again

Why is it that inspiration strikes at the least opportune moment? Last night I was lying in bed when suddenly a section of dialogue scrolled through my mind. It was exactly what I needed to move my story forward. So there I was, wondering if I should force myself out of bed to write it down or remain comfortably in bed. I chose the latter, hoping that the lingering effects of inspiration will last until the morning. It didn’t. Its a lesson learned. Never toy with inspiration.

Oh well.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in inspiration, sleep, story, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It happened again

  1. Erica says:

    Oh boy have I been there.

    When I ‘lose’ a great idea in the way you’ve described, I try to remind myself that there’s no shortage of ideas or inspiration. I think we always have access to great inspiration. We just have to figure out how to remain open to it.
    I think if you’re open (which you clearly are since ideas are popping into your head at strange moments) some version of your idea will visit you again soon.

    • vanyieck says:

      Thanks for sharing your empathy. I certainly hope I regain my lost idea. You’re right, there is no limit to inspiration, but going through dry times it makes you appreciate it that much more when it comes.

  2. jenniferneri says:

    sometimes when this happens to me, I remember the next night when I am falling asleep…keep that pen and paper by the bed.

Leave a Reply

