Manitoulin dreaming

My vacation has come to an end. It was a wonderful trip to Northern Ontario. Although unintentional, our trip to Manitoulin Island also saw a writing holiday. Not once did I place pen to paper to record my thoughts or develop new story ideas. This recess had a couple of interesting consequences. I was surprised at my apathy when I focused my attention back to writing. The words didn’t flow as smoothly as I’d hoped. Even writing this post is a challenge.

When thinking about my post vacation writer’s block, I began to wonder about the purpose of my writing. Why do I write? Is it to be published? Is it for my own edification? I think these questions directly relate to my current struggles. I’m not sure why I write. Returning to the project that was so strongly criticized by my editor, I’m wondering if its worth the effort. Perhaps its my pride overwhelming my abilities, but I think my writing is as good as much of what I currently read. Why then must I deconstruct my story?

On a different subject, I decided to convert one of my Rembrandt Parables into a podcast. I recorded it, but haven’t figured out how to post it on-line. The size of the file is too large even to send via e-mail. Hopefully I’ll figure it out soon.

(If I’m not sure why I write, then why, oh why am I creating a podcasts? Okay, I’m finished whining.)

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in apathy, editing, Manitoulin Island, podcast, Rembrandt Parables, stories, vacation, whining, writer's block, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Manitoulin dreaming

  1. jenniferneri says:

    Vanyieck, I am dismayed to hear these words from you. The few words I have read by you, have been passionate, and I never once questioned why you wrote. I am sad that you question yourself.
    Is this your editor for publication that you refer to?

    • vanyieck says:

      I’d be lying if I said I’m not frustrated. Tonight I was watching a documentary on a noted Canadian film maker who’s career resembled the trajectory of a yo-yo. Through it all he persevered, especially during the most difficult times.

      There’s a lesson in there somewhere.

      The editor I referred to is, I believe, sincerely trying to help me develop as a writer. After writing in relative solitude for so long the shock of criticism has taken me off guard. I still cling to your advice that the sting will eventually fade.

      • jenniferneri says:

        I found that sting of critique vanishes once I applied the criticism. Working with the feedback, and seeing the changes that ensue now make critique something I look forward to. I see criticism as holding potential.

        (I also have to be able to sift through it and know what I agree with and don’t).

Leave a Reply

