English, a painful language

I just noticed that it’s been ten days since my last post. I’ve been editing my last Rembrandt Parable. This story, for some reason, has been particularly challenging. The problem has been my love/hate relationship with the English language. I love the ability to express myself through the wonder of language. It is humanity’s greatest creation. Everything we know, even the way we understand our world is only possible through language. It liberates us from the morass of obscurity. It inspires awe.

That being said, English, with it’s precision and elegance, is excruciatingly frustrating. Working through my story has been an endurance test. I spent hours attempting to accurately express my ideas. Each time I struggled to find the right words. The only word I can find to explain my week is perseverance. It was a matter of try and try again.

Sometimes writing is more of a wrestling match with the English that an act of creativity.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in creative process, creativity, English, language, perseverance, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to English, a painful language

  1. It’s said that English is the hardest language to learn, with Japanese coming in a close second – I guess that’s because we’ve borrowed so much from other languages. Even though English is my first language, I have to keep the reference manuals and dictionaries handy. I think it’s the speaker (or writer) who makes the language elegant, because it is such a difficult one to master.

  2. jenniferneri says:

    I was actually going to ask you if English is your first language?

    Oh, I definitely agree that the editing process is a wrestle and is not creative at all. that is the whole reason I write one project and edit another at the same time.

    • vanyieck says:

      Actually, yes. English is my first language. I’m not sure what it says of me as a writer, but language is both my greatest asset and my greatest nemesis.

Leave a Reply

