To nanowrimo or not to nanowrimo

This week I realized that it won’t be very long until we’re back into the writer’s holiday known as Nanowrimo. I was introduced to the phenomenon two years ago. National novel writing month is a great motivational tool for writers who struggle with procrastination. I approached as a personal challenge. I wanted to see if I had what it takes to write a full fledged novel. Up until that time I’d only written short stories and articles.

Two successful nanowrimo years later I’m wondering if I want to start another writing marathon. It’s not that I have nothing left to write. If anything I have too much. I have too many projects left unfinished. Perhaps My efforts would be better spent editing what I’ve already produced. On the other hand, nanowrimo is a whole lot of fun.

It’s the classic question: should I focus on the immediate joy of nanowrimo or slog through the editing process with the hope of long term satisfaction? Fortunately I have a little over a month to decide.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in crativity, creative process, editing, marathon, NaNoWriMo, procrastination, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

