But would you put it on your wall?

I’ve taking this painting class at the local community college. So far it’s been a great learning experience. The greatest challenge I’ve faced this far is translating my imagination onto the canvas. I’ve also learned the truest test of art appreciation. Most people, when examining someone else’s work, will say how much they like it. I don’t want to claim that most people are being disingeuous when they say that, but flippant praise does seem to be the norm. I’ve discovered that the truest praise the willingness of someone to hang your work on their wall. That means they think enough of your work to make it part of their daily experience. And, just in case you’ wondering, no one has done that with my work. Not yet, anyway.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in appreciation, art, community college, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to But would you put it on your wall?

  1. I would put all your art on my wall!

    So – are you joining us for nanowrimo again this year?

  2. vanyieck says:

    This year I’m not participating in nano. I’m taking an art class at Mohawk and working on another writing project and podcast. Bu my oldest child is enrolling in the nano Young Writers Program. I’ll spend this year as the supportive dad.

Leave a Reply

