Namesake

A few years ago we decided to purchase a car. When I applied for the loan I discovered the existence of another person in town who shared my name. I also learned that my namesake has a very poor credit history. In order to secure the loan I needed to sign an affidavit promising I wasn’t the other person.

Just this week I met someone who actually knows my namesake. I learned that this other person actually stole from his own mother. He has a criminal record and has established quite a notorious reputation in the city. I couldn’t help but wonder how much of that reputation has unintentionally splashed on me. I wonder if there are people who hear my name and automatically associate me with this other scoundrel. A good name is valuable. How unfortunate would it be if my reputation was tainted because of someone whose only connection to me was a name.

It’s very disconcerting.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in city, criminal record, identity, reputation, scoundrel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

