Olympics and other distractions

I love the olympics. I know there are many reasons not to, but even my cynical little heart softens and my nationalistic pride swells with the success of my fellow Canadians. I even enjoy cheering for other nations, especially Latvia. I spent a summer in Latvia several years ago and fell in love with that country. It has a spirit and pride that is infectious. So, go Canada! Go Latvia!

The last week I’ve been riveted to the TV watching Canada win it’s first ever gold on home soil. It’s a gorilla off our country’s back. Now that the pressure’s off, I think we’re set for a great games. Since I’ve been so preoccupied, I’ve neglected my writing and blogging. That I’m about to rectify. I’ve continued writing my micro-novel, I just haven’t been posting chapters. I’ve also decided to post daily updates daily. Weekly updates of 55 words kills the momentum. Daily updates, on the other hand, should be a tad more compelling. That’s my hope, anyway. The next chapter should be posted shortly.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in 55 fiction, blogging, Canada, Latvia, micro-novel, olympics, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Olympics and other distractions

  1. Helen says:

    Thank goodness I don’t have a TV. Everyone is talking about the Winter Olympics at the moment. There are already too many things in my life to distract me from writing. I don’t need another one!
    I stopped by from Jennifer Neri’s blog. Congratulations on your Prolific Blogger Award!

  2. vanyieck says:

    Helen,

    Thank-you very much. I hope you enjoyed your visit to my little patch of the web.

Leave a Reply

