The love of a good iTouch

I love my iTouch. There are few things better than plugging headphones in my ears and unplugging from the world. My preferred listening are my podcasts. I love listening to The Classic Tales by B.J. Harrison. Delving into classic literature heightens the escape. Unfortunately, I recently learned how important it is to keep one foot in the real world.

Last Thursday, just after sunset, I plugged into my Classic Tales and wandered over to my local convenience store. I had a hankering for an iced tea. I found myself in front of the cooler with the dilemma of Lipton’s or Nestea. These types of decisions are needlessly stressful, so I took one of each. I placed both selections on the counter to discover no one was there. I looked around the store to find no one. I peeked behind the counter. Checked out the back room. Wandered up and down the aisles. No one.

Outside three guys were smoking. I went out to see what’s up. I pushed on the door. It was locked. I was alone in a locked convenience store. Outside the smoking guys were looking at me with the same confusion I felt. How did this happen? Even worse, what do I do now?

I unlocked the door. Customers drove up and entered the store. “There’s no one here,” I said to one guy. He looked at me like I was on something.

The store employee emerged from the back room. She looked as bewildered as the rest of us. “How’d you get in here?”

“I was here the whole time,” I said. “I think you locked me in.”

“Well,” she said, “Thanks for not ripping me off.”

I plugged back into my iTouch and walked home. If there’s a lesson to be learned here I guess it has to be this: Pay attention. Actually, I’d rather not.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in B. J. Harrison, iTouch, Lipton's, Nestea, The Classic Tales podcast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

