A few insights on blogging

I’ve been blogging for a couple of years now, with moderate success. I’m not taking the blogosphere by storm, but I do have a few followers. Here are a few things I’ve learned so far.

Write about what you enjoy. Passion is enthusiastic and will help carry you along even in times when you don’t necessarily feel like posting. Passion need not be singular. You can blog on two or three themes. Be open to possibilities and discussions. In time you may find your blog focus on a single theme, or that you broaden your scope. Allow your blog to be organic.

Engage in discussions with other blogs. Find blogs that share in your passions and interests. Read their posts, and offer comments. Add their blogs to your blog roll. This seems to be the most effective way to market your blog to a wider audience, and it helps fuel your blogging passion. You’ll find that you want to go on-line and see what’s out there, and what you want to add to the discussion.

Realize that old posts serve as a library of writing. Old posts don’t die. Some of my most popular posts are over a year old. People Google search certain topics, like ‘Christmas benediction’, and discover an old post. Your blog serves as a collective work of your writing and thought, so take it seriously and do your best.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is particularly interesting. All I can claim is Christ, and Him crucified. He is my Lord, my Saviour and my King.
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, library, write, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A few insights on blogging

  1. Benjamin T. Collier says:

    Thank you. I’ll try and remember that. 🙂

  2. Thanks for the inspiration to keep on blogging. I love your light approach.

  3. thanks for the tips–I’ve added you to my blogroll

  4. marcyandlisa says:

    We’re also learning as much as we can about blogging. There’s so much to learn, and a lot of bad advice out there too. Is this all you do to market your blog? Do you ping? What about the value of guest bloggers? Lots of things to consider.

    • vanyieck says:

      I’ve had guest bloggers, and since you mention it I should probably invite a few more. Guest bloggers do add a lot of cross traffic and build valuable relationships across the blogosphere. I don’t ping, but that’s only because I haven’t figured that out yet. I agree with you, though. There’s a lot to this whole blogging thing. I hope the longer I blog the more proficient I become. It’s an activity that requires constant learning. Thanks!

Leave a comment