A Foot in the Door- a short story

Arturs was confident he had the intangible ‘it’. He sat in the human resource office of First Financial. It was the first step in his grand scheme to become the next Warren Buffet.

Mr. Brock, a middle aged man with a horrible comb over entered and sat across from him. He was carefully looking over his resumé.

“You’re education is impressive. Experience, internship, hmm,” he said. “What we’re looking for is something special. Some quality that sets you apart from the other applicants.”

“Yes, sir, I understand” said Arturs. He sat quietly as Mr. Brock read to the end of his resumé. His brows furled.

“Is this correct? You were the International Turkey Bowling champion in 2010?”

“Yes, that’s correct.”

“Turkey bowling?”

“Yes. The ITBF was established in 2007. I was runner-up in 2008 and 2009 before finally winning it all in twenty ten. I have to tell you, it was one of the greatest moments of my life.”

Mr. Brock sat up in his chair and folded his hands. “And what exactly is turkey bowling?”

“It’s bowling with frozen turkeys. My roommates and I developed it. In college,” said Arturs.

“So you’re the creator of the ITBF. What makes it international?”

“Well, I’m originally from Latvia, Park’s from South Korea, Guy’s from Canada and Paul’s American.”

Mr. Brock nodded his head. “And what qualities does a champion bowler possess?”

“Poise in the face of salmonella,” he said.

“Of course,” said Mr. Brock.

“I think I’ve seen enough,” said Mr. Brock as he closed his file folder. “I like the cut of your gib. As the ’85 champion of the Pacman Tournament of greater North Tonawanda, New York, I’m happy to see another innovator in the firm. Congratulations.”

Arturs smiled. He knew this was the place for him.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis, turkey bowling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Foot in the Door- a short story

  1. hahaha, this is too funny! you do have a warped sense of humor–and I like it!

  2. Great quirky story – an enjoyable read!

Leave a Reply

