Be Careful What You Wish For

Sheaffer always heard the axiom ‘be careful what you wish for’, but hadn’t taken it to heart. Until now.

In a conversation with someone the previous day he flippantly said, “I wish I knew then what I know now.” His wish came true.

The following morning Sheaffer was roused by his mother. “Good morning, sunshine,” she said. He hadn’t lived with his parents in twenty years.

“Time for breakfast. Today’s a big day. It’s your first day of school,” said his mom, cheerfully.
“What?”

“It’s your first day of kindergarten.”

“Is this a joke?”

“No, now get up. You have a big day,” said his mother with a stern voice. Sheaffer believed this was a dream, so he decided to see where it went.

He found himself at Linwood Elementary School in a line up of five year olds. They were being mauled by over emotional, doting parents. Then he was sitting in a semi-circle around Mrs. Carmichael, his old kindergarten teacher. The kid next to him was wiping snot on his sleeve.

“Let’s begin by telling each other our names and what we want to be when we grow up. Sheaffer, we’ll begin with you.”

“Hi, I’m Sheaffer Pillar and I’m a programmer for Oracle.”

“Sheaffer, you want to be a programmer,” corrected Mrs. Carmichael.

“No, I am a programmer. This is a dream and I’ll be waking up soon,” said Sheaffer. It seemed odd that he should be so self-aware in his dream.

“It’s nice to pretend, but that’s not what we’re doing now,” said Mrs. Carmichael.

“I’ll prove it to you. Where’s your computer?” Sheaffer asked as he looked around the room.

“It’s funny you should say that. We got our first classroom computer this year. It’s the latest thing, a Commodore 64. Perhaps later we’ll see how it works,” said Mrs. Carmichael.

All the color drained from Sheaffer’s face.

“Are you alright, Sheaffer?”

“I suddenly don’t feel well. I have a splitting headache,” he said.

“Go down to the nurse,” said Mrs. Carmichael. “She’ll give you a Tylenol.”

Sheaffer took the pill and rested until his mom picked him up. The rest of the day was a haze. This was the longest dream of his life. Sheaffer went to bed early. He hoped that would bring him back to reality. That night he slept soundly. The next morning he awoke to a familiar sound.

“Good morning, sunshine. Today’s a big day. It’s your second day of school.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, kindergarten, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis, wish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

