Disharmony.com

It was the first beautiful sunny day of Spring. Mike opened the sunroof in his car to allow the warm rays to bathe the interior of the car. ‘Patio Lanterns’ by Kim Mitchell was playing on the radio. Mike and Liv were on their way to the movie theatre to see the romantic comedy ‘Where is the Joker?’

“I saw Elvis today. He was going into the Big Top restaurant with some woman,” said Liv.

“Marilyn Monroe,” said Mike.

“No, silly. Seriously, his hair was dark and he had a bald spot on the top of his head,” she said.

Mike hesitated. “So you saw some guy who looked like Elvis going into a restaurant, like an Elvis impersonator or something,” said Mike.

“No, I saw Elvis. The King of Rock and Roll,” said Liv.

“Uh huh.”

“You don’t believe me,” said Liv.

“Why wouldn’t I believe you? I mean, you saw a dead guy sampling the local cuisine. It makes perfect sense. After all that time, he’d be hungry. What’s not to believe?”

Liv folded her arms in disgust. “You don’t trust me,” she said.

“What’re you talking about? You’re not making any sense,” said Mike.

“That shouldn’t matter. If I say I saw Elvis dancing the Charleston with little green aliens, you should believe me. It’s a matter of trust,” said Liv.

“No, it’s a matter of therapy,” said Mike.

Liv gasped. “If our relationship isn’t built on trust, then we’re doomed.”

“What relationship? It’s our first date. We only met on-line last week,” said Mike.

Liv refolded her arms and stared out the window. “Some people are born ignorant,” she said.

“And some people have ignorance thrust upon them,” said Mike.

Mike turned the car around. “I’ll take you home,” he said.

“I should say so.”

The two drove in icy silence back to Liv’s house. Mike made a mental note to change his on-line dating profile.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in dating, Elvis, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, on-line dating, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

