The Sound of Yellow

Niklas unzipped the flap of his tent and welcomed the morning. Karen was sitting on the beach by the lake watching the sunrise.

“Good morning, honey. Did you sleep well?” said Karen.

“Not really. Stupid crickets kept me up,” said Niklas.

“That’s nice. Listen to the yellow of the sunrise. It so beautifully harmonizes with the blue of the water,” said Karen.

Niklas raised an eyebrow. “Did you say listen to the yellow?”

“Of course,” said Karen. “It’s amazing.”

“You can’t hear yellow,” said Niklas.

“Are you feeling okay?”

“Yellow’s a colour. You can’t hear a colour,” said Niklas.

“Yellow is a wavelength. We hear wavelengths, right? So I’m listening to yellow,” said Karen.

“But do you actually hear something?”

“Well, yeah. Obviously,” said Karen.

Niklas sat down beside Karen and listened, then shook his head. He looked around at the majestic wilderness. It was like they were the only two people on earth.

“I’m hungry,” said Niklas, breaking the silence.

“Me too. I’m starving for 5over3BOB!” said Karen.

“What?”

“It’s no spam cheesecake, but it’d sure hit the spot right now,” said Karen. “I know, let’s go to the drive-in across the lake. I heard they got the best 5over3BOB in the area.”

“I don’t know what to say to that.”

“Great. You tack the moose and we’ll head over there,” said Karen.

There was a tickle on Niklas’ face. He swept his hand across his cheek and hit something solid. He woke up in time to see a cockroach scurry under his sheets. The sound of police sirens pierced the night.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in camping, dream, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sound of Yellow

  1. I like the thought of listening to the yellow. It reminds me of Rod McKuen’s collection of poems “Listen to the Warm.” What a nice dream Niklas had.

Leave a Reply

