Cyberslam

A booming slam made everyone on the office poke their heads about their cubicles. Krista didn’t care. She was still seething from her meeting with Mr. Waterman, her boss. Chuck hovered over Krista’s cubicle, waiting for details.

“Waterman’s an idiot. I’ve had it. I tell you, he’s pushed me too far,” said Krista as she dropped into her chair.

“What’d he do?” said Chuck.

“I’ve been working on the Skyline project for four months. Every time I give him something it’s not good enough. Now he wants me to do it over from scratch. Let him do it himself,” said Krista. She wheeled around in her chair and started typing on her computer. A sinister grin inched across face.

“Uh oh,” said Chuck.

“Ever heard of the website epugilist.com? Take a look,” said Krista.

Chuck read the slogan. “Let us take your fight on-line.”

“They’ve got the right e-cards for every occasion,” said Krista.

“‘Breaking up is easy to do’, ‘Kick ‘em when they’re down’, ‘Bullies aren’t really human’. What’s this? ‘So what if I gave you an STD? You broke my heart. Now we’re even’. That’s nasty,” said Chuck as he read over the card categories.

“Here’s what I need. ‘Take this job and shove it’,” said Krista. She clicked to reveal a huge selection of cards.

“How’d you hear about this?” said Chuck.

“A friend sent me one as a joke,” said Krista.

“Which one? Are you sure it was a joke?”

“Shut up or I’ll send one to your wife. Here, which card should I send, ‘If it took brains to breathe you would’ve suffocated at birth’, or ‘Congratulations on being promoted to your level of incompetence’?” said Krista.

“Tough choice.” Chuck paused. “You’re not gonna actually send one, are you?” he said.

Krista leaned back in her chair and rubbed her face. “No, I guess not. At least not today. But I feel better knowing I could.”

“Well, bookmark the site just in case,” said Chuck as he ducked back into his cubicle.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in e-cards, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, internet, office, revenge, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

