Subtext

The coffee shop bustled. Mark and Reyna sat at a table near the entrance and enjoyed their afternoon refections.

“My favorite movie? ‘Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure’. Dude, no way,” said Reyna.

“Tell me you’re joking.”

“It’s a classic. Know why? There’s nothing else like it.”

“Except ‘Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey’, ‘Fast Times at Ridgemont High’, ‘Dumb and Dumber’, ‘Dumb and Dumber Two’, ‘Pineapple-’”

“I get it, I get it. Hey! You took that guy’s money. Stop,” said Reyna.

“I didn’t take-”

Reyna stood up. “I saw you. That’s right. The guy with the walker dropped five dollars and you picked it up,” she shouted.

The restaurant stopped. Mark looked around trying to discover what was fueling Reyna’s outburst. He saw an older man with coke bottle glasses at the counter glaring at Reyna. The man with a walker was still moving slowly toward a table.

“Sir, sir,” said Reyna, calling out to the disabled man. She held the other man in check.

“Mark, go get him,” said Reyna. Mark jumped up and obeyed.

“You. Give him his five dollars back. It’s in your hand. Do it,” said Reyna. She had a fire in her eye Mark knew all too well. The man with the glasses stood frozen in place.

“Sir, yes you with walker. What’s your name?” said Reyna.

“Enis.”

“Enis, I saw you drop five dollars. This man took it and wasn’t going to give it back,” said Reyna.

“It’s my change,” whispered the man with the glasses.

“Liar. Who do you think we believe? Enis, poor disabled Enis? Or you?” asked Reyna.

The manager of the coffee shop approached. “Is there a problem here?”

“A theft took place in your store. I mean, who robs from a cripple?” said Reyna.

All eyes fell on the alleged thief. He seemed to shrink under the weight of their stares. “I was going to give it back,” he said as he held out the five dollar bill.

Enis accepted it and put it in his pocket.

“I’m sorry,” said the man before making a hasty exit.

A couple in line applauded Reyna. Enis returned to his seat looking perplexed. The manager of the coffee shop presented Reyna with a complimentary gift card. Reyna beamed. Mark scowled.

“What just happened here?” he asked.

“What do you mean, Mark?” said Reyna innocently.

“Subtext me.”

Reyna smiled. “Just call me Robin Hood.”

“Huh?”

“Walk with purpose, speak with authority and people will believe you,” said Reyna as she played with gift card.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in coffee shop, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, Robin Hood, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis, subtext, theft, thief and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Subtext

  1. Reyna’s my new hero!

Leave a Reply

