Insomniac Bees

“Do bees sleep?”

Bill lowered his paper and looked over his glasses at his wife. Cynthia sat knitting baby hats for the maternity ward of their local hospital.

“What?” he said.

“I’m just wondering. I can just imagine a whole hive of insomniacs, not being able to rest. Doing what ever they’re doing,” said Cynthia.

“D’you have any idea what you’re saying?”

“Sure I do. I read somewhere that bees are disappearing world wide. Nobody knows where they’ve gone. They’ve just disappeared,” she said. She paused her knitting to look at Bill in utter bewilderment.

“So you’re trying to figure it out while you’re sitting there, knowing nothing of bees. You don’t even garden,” said Bill

“Doesn’t mean I can’t have ideas,” said Cynthia. “I have wisdom from years of experience.”

“Doing what? Raising our kids? That has nothing to do with why bees are disappearing,” said Bill.

“Our kids certainly have seemed to disappear. Haven’t seen or heard from Joan or Richard in months. There could be a connection,” said Cynthia.

“Lemme guess. Entire hives are avoiding their parents and that’s why they’re missing,” said Bill.

“No. Workaholics. Joan and Richard are both workaholics. I think they’ll work themselves into the grave. Did you know Richard works 70 hours a week for that airline? It’ll be the death of him for sure. Maybe the bees work so hard they die of exhaustion. Never take a rest,” said Cynthia.

Bill sighed and returned to his paper. “I can’t argue with that.”

“Nor should you. Mothers know, my dear. Mothers know.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in bees, father, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, insomnia, mothers, parents, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis, workaholic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Insomniac Bees

  1. Yes, mother’s know best and even if they don’t, I’ve learned to say, “Yes, Mother.”

  2. Karen says:

    lol!
    You can’t argue with that logic.

  3. Gerry says:

    There’s a terrific amount of knodwelge in this article!

Leave a Reply

