Mary, A Great Woman of Faith

As Christmas approaches, I thought it would be interesting to briefly look at the people surrounding the birth of Christ. Lately, I’ve been thinking about Mary. Two things about Mary capture my attention.

First, it’s the fact that she wasn’t given a choice. The angel informed her that she would be pregnant with the Son of God. Mary didn’t ask for this and no one sought her opinion. Mary’s life unexpectedly spun out of control. She faced the stigma of being a unwed pregnant young woman, possibly even facing severe punishment.

What’s so remarkable is that she saw this as a opportunity for greater faith. She accepted the Lord’s will for her life, even though it was going to be a difficult journey. (cf Luke 2:35)

The second thing about Mary is how she sought out another woman of incredible faith. She didn’t try to face this journey alone. Mary needed someone who understood what she was going through. That woman was Elizabeth. She was a confidante and encouragement.

Mary and Elizabeth demonstrate how much we need each other. People of faith need the encouragement and support of others of like faith.

Mary was a remarkable woman. Her faith and character were key elements of the incarnation of God.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mary, A Great Woman of Faith

  1. Janet says:

    Yes, this is an insightful write…and don’t you think it is the trouble, not prosperity that draws us together? When things run ‘smoothly’ for too long we tend to think we do not NEED each other, but we do.

    • vanyieck says:

      I completely agree. Faith is strengthened in times of trouble, or trial. We do need each other. We’re meant to support each other on the journey.

  2. Mel says:

    I love that you pointed out that Mary had no say in God’s plans for her life, no control. I’ve never looked at it that way before. I think today we like to simply make our own plans and just ask God for His blessing and end up dumbfounded when things don’t work out instead of just trusting God, like Mary did. Thank you for sharing!

    • vanyieck says:

      We have a lot of people in our church with physical challenges. They didn’t have a choice, but through them God has done amazing things. I think that’s what helped me understand Mary’s situation.

Leave a Reply

