The Christmas Present Intervention

The lunchroom was packed. Geoff wandered around until he found his coworkers sitting in the back corner. As usual, he was the last to arrive.

“How’s it going?” he asked.

Carter raised his hand in a flourish. “No interruptions. We’re trying to save a man’s life. It’s December 20th and Erikson hasn’t bought anything for his lady.”

“So?” said Geoff.

“Last year he bought her a toilet,” said Miller.

Geoff cringed as he sat down. “Really? Dude.”

“He told her it was her throne,” said Carter.

Erikson shrugged his shoulders. “What? We were renovating the bathroom. It was the model she wanted.” The others just shook their heads in shame.

“Okay, focus,” said Carter. He sprang to his feet. “When’s her birthday?”

“June. Why?”

“Okay, here’s what you do. Does she like jewelry? Necklaces ‘n stuff,” said Carter.

“Uh, I guess so. She dresses up for work.”

“Great. Go the the mall. Find a jewelry store and buy her a birthstone necklace,” said Carter. He crossed his arms and smiled victoriously.

“Hey, that’s good,” said Miller.

Erikson looked like he was in pain. “I don’t know. I don’t her birthstone. It sounds too complicated.”

“Dude, I have one word for you: toilet,” said Geoff.

“What is the birthstone for June?” asked Miller.

“It doesn’t matter. The jeweler knows that stuff,” said Carter. “Go. Buy. Make your wife happy. It’s easy, see?”

“It is a good idea,” said Miller.

Erikson thought a second. “Alright, I’ll do it. Thanks, Carter. Thanks, guys.”

Carter stretched his arms out wide. “That’s what I’m here for. Entertain and inform. Hey, I’m like a docudrama.”

Miller hit Carter with a french fry. “Next time, try more doc and less drama.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Christmas, Christmas present, docudrama, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, husband, present, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis, wife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

