A Good Informant

Margie settled onto a bench near the playground and opened her novel. Morgan and Bryce, her six and four year old children, laughed as they climbed the monkey bars. Margie read one paragraph before Morgan plopped down beside her. She lowered her book to discover Morgan staring intently at her.

“Why don’t you go play with your brother?”

“Mommy, I’ve been thinking about an allowance,” said Morgan.

“Have you?”

“Yes, mommy. I know what I could do that you could pay me for.”

“What’s that?”

“I could be your informant.”

Margie suppressed a laugh. “Do you know what an informant does?”

Morgan rolled her eyes. “Of course I do, mommy. They learn things, then sell what they learn to others. It’s kinda like a spy.”

“Wow. Where’d you learn that?”

“You an’ daddy watched that movie last night, after Bryce an’ me went to bed.”

“I didn’t hear you sneak back downstairs.”

“Informants gotta be sneaky. I was practicing,” said Morgan proudly.

Margie tried to think what else Morgan might’ve seen.

“Sweetheart, I don’t think I need an informant.”

“Yeah you do, mommy. For all the bad stuff Bryce does.”

Margie watched Bryce climb the slide. “Be careful, Brycie,” she said. “Bryce doesn’t get into too much trouble.”

“He will,” said Morgan.

“Why do you say that?”

“That’s easy. You know how everyone says Bryce is just like daddy?”

“Yeah.”

“‘Member when daddy pinched you in the bum an’ you said he was a bad man? That means Bryce’ll be a bad man, too. You need me to keep an eye on him.”

Margie laughed. “If Bryce is anything like his daddy, he’ll be alright.”

Morgan glared as she stared at Bryce running around the playground. “I dunno, mommy.”

“Trust me,” said Margie.

The two sat for a moment in silence.

“Mommy?”

“Yes, sweetie?”

“Last night, why were you an’ daddy giggling so much?”

Margie quickly closed he book and stood up. “Time to go home!”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in children, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, parents, short fiction, short story, story, storypraxis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Good Informant

  1. cute! kids are so inquisitive

  2. Janet says:

    I like the ending so much! It so much better than Mom, what were you and dad arguing about last night…Would that every mother could tell a story like this:) I enjoyed it so much.

  3. Janet says:

    I just proof read my comment! I think I used so much, too much;) sorry for that pathetic lack of grammar.

Leave a Reply

