The Temper Tantrum

Becky was used to demanding customers. She’d worked as a barista at the Caffeine Fix in the swanky neighborhood of Rosedale for four years. In that time she’d learned that rich people are equal parts demanding and downright strange. At first she accommodated their eccentricities with patience and a smile. Unfortunately, patience is not everlasting.

The proverbial straw came in the form of a vegan actor. Becky worked the register while Herbert, a new barista, served the coffee. The actor ordered a grandé half-caf low fat no foam soy latté. When Herbert handed him a grandé half-caf low fat skim milk latté the actor threw a temper tantrum.

“What’s this?” he yelled. “Is this foam? Did you use real milk?”

“Oh, I’m sorry,” said Herbert subserviently.

“You’re sorry? I want a no foam soy latté,” shouted the actor. He flicked foam in Herbert’s face. “I don’t eat anything with eyes.”

Herbert’s nerves frayed. “What about potatoes? They have eyes,” he said.

The actor exploded. “How dare you! Do you know who I am?”

“It’s just coffee,” said Herbert.

“Just cof… Where’s your supervisor?”

Becky slid over. “Is there a problem sir?”

“I ordered a half-caf low fat soy, and I mean soy, latté,” he said as he shoved the cup in Becky’s face, forcing her to drink his coffee. “Does that taste like soy to you?” Coffee spilled down Becky’s shirt all the way down to her socks.

The actor stamped his feet. “I want a grandé half-caf low fat soy latté and I want it now!”

Something in Becky snapped. “Certainly sir. If you would wait right here,” she said calmly as she searched through a box hidden beneath the cash register. She found what she was looking for and returned to the actor.

He opened his mouth to speak when Becky shoved a soother in his mouth.

“You suck on that until you settle down, you big baby. And if you don’t I’ll burp you right here,” she said.

The rest of the coffee shop erupted in applause. The stunned actor sucked on the soother. Herbert gave Becky a hug.

Through the ruckus Becky heard her manager. “Becky, can I see you please?” If this was her last day as a barista, at least it was one to remember.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in barista, coffee, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story, temper tantrum and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Temper Tantrum

  1. kittyjane says:

    Don’t you just wish you could reply like that to some clients…

Leave a Reply

