Cranky With a Cause

images

It was the first day of Spring yard work and Aaron primed his Lawnboy for a morning mow. Priya was across the yard clearing a Winter’s buildup of debris from the garden.

“Can you believe this? Someone let their dog take a dump on the lawn and didn’t clean it up,” fumed Aaron.

Priya looked up from the garden and assessed the situation. “It’s not that bad.”

“Not that bad? Whata ya mean it’s not that bad? It’s brutal.”

“I’d rather see it outside on my lawn than in my house,” said Priya with a coy grin.

“A dog is still a good idea. It doesn’t take much to house train them and they’re good companions.”

“You’re already house trained and you’re a great companion, so why do I need a dog?”

“Be serious. Dogs are great as long as you’re a responsible owner. Not like the idiot who left his dog’s crap on our lawn. It’s like, there’s no courtesy in the world any more. When I was a kid…”

“You walked to school ten miles each way, barefoot uphill in six feet of snow?”

“I don’t know why I talk to you.”

“Because I’m witty, intelligent and articulate.”

“Don’t forget aggravating,” said Aaron as he folded his arms in disgust.

“Oh, poor deer. I’m sorry. Please continue your diatribe.”

“Thank-you. The other day when I was going to work some dumb kid walked across, no, more like pranced across the green light right in front of me. She looked all smug about it, too. Know what they should do? They should pass a law allowing one driver in a hundred to run down people like that and not get charged, sort of a public service. That’d make ‘em think twice.”

“They’d probably do it again anyway,” said Priya.

“You’re right. ‘Cause nobody has any courtesy,” said Aaron, waving his arms.

“Speaking of courtesy, would you please do me the courtesy of mowing the lawn?”

“But what about the dog poo?”

“Do whatever as long as you mow the lawn,” said Priya. “Please?”

“I want you to know I’m bound by the code of courtesy. Chivalry isn’t dead, yet.”

“That’s because chivalry doesn’t want to sleep alone tonight,” said Priya.

“Good point,” said Aaron, right before he fired up the lawnmower.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

