Hipster Drinking Game

images

 

“I once knew a guy so obsessed, he wore every ring he owned to bed, just in case there was a fire or something. One morning he woke up and one of his rings was gone. He went crazy searching for it. Literally,” said Trevor. He folded his arms and grinned smugly.

 

Webster and Mark raised their eyebrows at each other, nodded, then swallowed shots of espresso. They held out their steady hands and smiled.

 

“Okay. My turn,” said Webster, rubbing his hands together. “I knew of a lady who had so many dogs, she ran out of money and couldn’t feed them. When they got to her all they found were bones scattered everywhere.”

 

Trevor and Mark sat forward in their chairs.

 

“Is that all?” asked Mark.

 

Webster rolled his eyes up and to the left. “And they never found her skull.”

 

“Oh, snap!” said Trevor. He and Mark drank their espresso shots, grimaced, then held out their hands.

 

“You’re up, Mark,” said Webster.

 

“Hold on, let me think,” said Mark.

 

“No, no, no. You gotta spit it out. No thinkin’. That’s the rule,” said Trevor.

 

Mark held up his hands. “Alright, I got somethin’. I know,” said Mark. He emphasized the word ‘know’. “I know two guys so full of crap, they spit brown.”

 

Immediately, the other two protested.

 

“That’s not a tall tale. It has to be an urban legend you made up. You’re just describing us,” said Trevor.

 

“Yep. You blew it. You have to drink up. C’mon, drink your shot,” said Webster.

 

Mark looked unimpressed. “Yeah? All right. I will when you both spit brown. G’head.”

 

It took a couple of seconds for it to register. Suddenly, Webster broke out in laughter.

 

“Sweet. Very nice,” said Trevor. He and Webster drank their shots of espresso, then held out their hands.

 

Over at the counter, a barista watched the rowdy trio. “What are they doing?” she asked the barista beside her.

 

The other barista didn’t even look up as she wiped down the coffee machines. “They’re playing a coffee drinking game. The last one to get the caffeine shakes wins,” she said.

 

The first barista smiled. “That may take a while,” she said. “We’re out of espresso so I’ve been serving them decaf.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in barista, caffeine, coffee, drinking game, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hipster Drinking Game

  1. nice. i was wary of the characters, but the simple twists were good.

  2. misskzebra says:

    I just really badly want a coffee now. 😦

Leave a Reply

