Winter Olympic Motivation

Unknown

Blake Hitchcock arrived at Stookie Barnswoggle’s apartment door to find that his old college roommate left it unlocked. Blake entered and found Stookie in his usual position on the couch. He stared blankly at olympic coverage on TV.

“Someday I wanna be good at somethin’,” sighed Stookie.

“Why’re ya watchin’ the winter olympics? You don’t even like sports.”

“I dunno. It’s different than the crap I usually watch.”

The crowd on TV erupted in cheers.

“What is this?”

“Hitch, man. It’s biathlon. Duh,” said Stookie, sarcastically. “Can you believe people do this stuff, like, everyday. It’s a total trip.”

They watched as athletes in skintight jump suits and rifles on their backs ski across the countryside.

“This is wild, man,” Stookie said under his breath.

“Maybe you should do somethin’ like this.”

“What? Dude, I can’t even ski.”

“Nah, somethin’ else. Like, go out there an’ try stuff. Somethin’ you might like,” said Blake.

“Like what?”

“I dunno. Stuff.”

Stookie jerked forward. “Don’t tell me what to do. I don’t need to do stuff like this. I got other stuff. Like street smarts.”

“All that means is you know what street you live on,” said Blake, laughing. “If you work at it you can get street wise.”

Stookie rolled his eyes. “An’ what’s that?”

“You know how to find the street you live on,” Blake laughed.

“You’re a goof,” said Stookie.

“Yeah, but at least I’m good at somethin’.”

“What?”

“I’m funny.”

“Whatever, man,” said Stookie. He sat back and flipped through TV channels.

“Oh, hey, check this out.” Blake stood up and pulled out his wallet. “I started doin’ somethin’ else.”

“This oughta be good.”

Blake pulled out a small stack of gift cards. “I collect ‘em.”

“Do they have money on ‘em?”

“No. They’re empty, but the cards are cool, right?”

“Seriously?”

“Yeah. I started a couple a months ago. I started with Starbucks cards ‘cause they’re cool, but now I’m collecting Target cards. They got ones that are games and puzzles. The one I’m tryin’ to find is called the ‘Bullseye Flyer’. It’s a real glider and runway and even comes with a pilot’s license. It’s freakin’ awesome!”

Stookie watched Blake’s face light up with excitement. On TV were highlights of the four man bobsleigh run. One sled flipped over, then crashed in the grandstands.

Stookie grimaced. “I’ll work on being street wise.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in biathlon, fiction, flash fiction, gift card, humor, humour, olympics, short fiction, short story, story, winter olympics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Olympic Motivation

  1. hotwheelzzzz says:

    I agree with Stokie but I woud at least try I love goin FAST

Leave a Reply

