The Incredible Adaptable Man

images

His wife made the appointment. Gus sat in the lobby of Maison Julia looking at the women who were looking at him. It was obvious to everyone that Gus was misplaced. He needed to be at place with a red and white barber pole out front, not the natural habitat for metrosexuals.

It didn’t help that Randy was running late. Gus’ wife, Maureen raved about Randy. She was the best hairstylist in town, she said. Gus wasn’t even sure if Randy was a man or woman.

Another pretty young woman walked past. She looked about half his age. Gus tried not to look like a creepy old guy. He was sure it wasn’t working.

“Gus. Hi, I’m Randy. Maureen told me all about you. It’s nice to finally meet you,” said a young woman. The first thing he noticed were her pierced nose and elegantly coifed hair. She made him feel ten years older.

“Hey,” said Gus.

Randy smiled. “Should we head back and get started?”

It had been three hours and Gus hadn’t returned. Maureen was starting to worry. As much as hated the thought of being a doting wife, she called his cell.

“Hi honey,” answered Gus. Maureen heard laughing in the background.

“Everything okay? You’ve been gone a while.”

“Everything’s great. I musta lost track of time,” said Gus. There was more giggling. Maureen heard someone use the word ‘cute’.

“Whatcha doin’?” asked Maureen. She tried to hide her growing annoyance.

“Oh, sorry, honey. When Randy was doing my hair she said one of the hair dryers was broken. I offered to take a look. It was an easy fix, so they asked if I’d take a look at a couple of other things. They comped my haircut, and the next one, too. How ‘bout that?”

“That’s great,” said Maureen. Her voice wavered. “The next time, too. You’re going back. Huh.”

“These girls are sweet. They’re so grateful. I’m glad you insisted I come here.”

Tears of anger pooled in Maureen’s eyes. “Me too, honey. Just come soon. Supper’s nearly ready. Okay?”

Maureen hung up the phone. She scrolled through her contacts and deleted Maison Julia.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, hair salon, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Incredible Adaptable Man

  1. mariahjean says:

    I both love and hate how your fables make me fill in my own holes.

Leave a Reply

