Battle of the Biotics

images

A well dressed young woman approached the pharmacist to pick up her prescription. Lauren, the Pharmacy Technician, sorted through a bundle of completed orders and pulled out a small bottle of antibiotics. The young woman shifted her weight nervously.

“Is there anything I can else I can help you with?” asked Lauren.

The young woman fiddled with her medicine bottle. “Are you the pharmacist?”

“I’m the Pharmacy Tech, but I can still help you,” explained Lauren.

“Well, it’s just that, I’m a little confused. Maybe I should talk to the pharmacist.”

“It’s alright, maybe I can clear things up for you,” said Lauren, shortly. She didn’t appreciate the insinuation.

“I’m really super health conscious. I’ve never even had a prescription before, so I’m not sure,” said the young woman.

Lauren noticed a line forming, so she was eager to move the young woman along. “What’s your question?”

The young woman leaned forward and whispered, “I love probiotic yogurt. I eat it, like, all the the time. Will it cancel out the antibiotics you just gave me?”

Lauren looked at the woman, trying to figure out if she was being serious.

“I just don’t want to, you know, make things worse,” added the young woman. She looked deeply concerned.

Taking a deep breath, Lauren whispered, “It’s a good thing you mentioned that. I can’t tell you how many people suffer from internal stress resulting from the mixing of biotics. For the duration of this medication you need to stop taking probiotics altogether.”

The young woman looked relieved. At that moment her eyes brightened. “You don’t think eating all those probiotics made me sick?”

Lauren could barely believe her ears. Mischief sparked in her heart. In her most serious tone she replied, “It makes sense. Why else would you need antibiotics? To balance out your body. You know what they say about too much of a good thing.”

“I know. You are so right. Thank you so much.”

Lauren smiled. “Glad to help. Next.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in antibiotic, fiction, flash fiction, health, humor, humour, pharmacy, prescription, probiotic, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

