The First Nice Day Of Spring

images

The digital clock on the wall in the coffee lab read 2:53. It was finally the first nice day of Spring and Quincey was restless. His cell phone rang. It was Sid from Purchasing.

“Hey.”

“Quincey! Are you busy?”

Quincey looked around the lab. He didn’t have the will to do all he was supposed to do that afternoon. “Nah. What’s up?”

“Bennie and I were thinking you could help us out,” said Sid.

Quincey cringed. The last thing he wanted was more work. “What do you need?”

“Well,” said Sid with a pause, “we wanted to pull a prank and we need your help.”

Quincey’s right eyebrow raised spontaneously. “What do you have in mind?”

“Do you know Corey? He’s the new guy in our department.”

“I met him a couple of times. He creeps me out. He’s always staring at my nose.”

“We told him you have no sense of taste or smell,” said Sid.

“What?”

“We need you to play along. I heard he’s working with you on the China project. You’ll do that, right? Thanks,” said Sid.

“Sid, that doesn’t make any sense. I’m a professional taster.”

“That’s the beauty of it. We told Corey you were hired because of some affirmative action thing.”

“How can I do my job if I can’t taste or smell?”

“Tell him you can sense sounds or light or something. Make something up. Be creative.”

“No, man! It’s stupid and I’m not doing it. He wouldn’t believe me anyway. It’s too far fetched,” said Quincey.

Sid laughed. “You’d be surprised. We told him two months ago.”

Quincey’s jaw dropped. “You lie.”

“Nope,” said Sid. “Two months. He thinks you’re like some kind of superhero.”

“That would explain why he’s so creepy,” mumbled Quincey.

“So, are you in? This could be epic. I mean internet viral epic. Bennie’s been recording Corey the whole time. We got a lot of great footage so far. All we need is something between you two. Come on, you gotta do this.”

“That’s mean. You know that, right?”

Sid laughed again. “Yep.”

Quincey looked at the clock on the wall. “What the hell, I’m in. It’s more fun that anything else I’m doing.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, lab, practical joke, short fiction, short story, Spring, story, work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Nice Day Of Spring

Leave a Reply

