When Children Peak Too Early

Unknown

“I can’t mess up Mother’s Day,” said Cadence, with tears in her eyes. She stood at the counter of the Stuffmart.

“I can help with that. What does you mom like?” asked Lilly with a smile.

Cadence bit her lip. “I don’t know. I’ve never done this before.”

“Done what?”

“Buy her anything.”

Lilly flinched. “Never?”

“No. I mean, I’ve given her gifts every year, but I haven’t actually bought anything for her,” explained Cadence.

“What have you done in the past?”

Cadence expelled a long, slow, breath. “Well, last year I gave her a picture frame I made out of elbow macaroni, sea shells and beans. It was painted gold.”

“That’s creative, I guess.”

“Last year I gave her a plaster mold of my handprint,” said Cadence.

“Really.”

“Yep.”

“Isn’t that what little kids do as crafts in elementary school? You seem a little older that that,” said Lilly, hesitantly.

“I’m thirty-seven.”

“Exactly.”

“In my defense, my mom still loves those things. I’d say just as much as when I was little. Two years ago I made her a cute doll out of an old pair of her pantyhose. It brought her to tears,” said Cadence.

“I would imagine,” said Lilly. She was struggling to mask her sarcasm. A thought suddenly occurred to her. “What, so if you always make your mom these amazing presents, what are you doing here?”

Cadence blushed. “I’ve run out of ideas.”

“What about taking an idea from what your kids make for you?”

“I don’t have any children. I’m single.”

“No kidding.”

“I know, I’m surprised, too. But now I’m hoping to find something that looks like it was homemade. Have anything like that?”

“I’d have to check.”

“If you wouldn’t mind.”

Lilly turned, then hesitated. “Excuse me, but I have one more question. What about flowers?”

“My mom loves flowers. She’s always in the garden. Every time I visit she’s on her way out the door. She says it’s her secret hideaway. In all the years I’ve been alive, I’ve never been allowed to help her garden.”

“That’s amazing,” said Lilly, completely deadpan.

“It’s true,” said Cadence, with all sincerity.

“Then why haven’t you ever bought her flowers, or something for the garden?”

Cadence’s eyes lit up. “That’s awesome. Where did you come up with that?”

Lilly was left struggling for words. She began to wonder if someone was playing a joke on her.

“I’ll say this, you’re too smart for a job like this. I’m glad I ran into you,” said Cadence.

Lilly shrugged her shoulders. “Well, I guess it just comes with being a mother.”

Cadence nodded in agreement. “That must be the difference.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in crafts, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, Mother's Day, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Children Peak Too Early

  1. nirvanaamjad says:

    Love the story! lol 😀

Leave a Reply

