Comic Smell of Love

images

Winslow watched Garrett pull a novel off the library shelf, open it, and take a long sniff across the page. He breathed out with a look of satisfaction.

“What are you doing?” asked Winslow, half out of curiosity, half in disgust.

“I love the smell of books,” said Garrett.

“You know, most people just read them.”

Garrett rolled his eyes. “I know, but they also smell amazing. Comic books especially. It’s the ink they use,” explained Garrett. He held out the book he was holding. “Here, smell.”

“It’s okay. I’ll take your word on it.”

“You’re missing out. Each publisher has it’s own unique smell. For instance, Batman comics smell bold and enticing. The Amazing Spiderman is sultry and earthy.”

“Do you realize how geeky that sounds? I mean, new level geeky. Super ultra geeky,” said Winslow.

Garrett placed the novel back on the shelf. “Oh yeah? The smell of comics helped me get married.”

“No chance. There’s no way.”

“On my first date with Tori, I rubbed a Batman #17 along my jawline. She noticed it instantly. She called it ‘intoxicating’,” said Garrett.

“Are you sure it wasn’t your shampoo or deodorant?”

“Yep. It was something she smelled alone the jawline. She said jawline. Later, as our relationship progressed, I used Amazing Spiderman #33. She was completely won over. The day we got married, I wore The Flash #26. Tori said it was refreshing,” said Garrett proudly.

Winslow was left speechless. He stared at Garrett for a few seconds, then walked away.

“Where are you going?” asked Garrett.

“I’m going to weep for humanity.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Batman, book, comic book, comics, fiction, flash fiction, humor, short fiction, short story, story, The Amazing Spiderman, The Flash and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

