First World Problems

Unknown

“Did you get everything you need?” asked Nellie.

“I think so. How about you?” replied Cassandra.

Nellie looked through her cart full of purchases. “Yep. If I didn’t remember it, I probably didn’t need it.”

They wove their way though the StuffMart toward the cashiers. The store was set up like a maze. Each aisle lead to exciting new bargains.

“I hope they have self check-out here,” said Nellie.

“I’m not sure.”

Nellie sorted through her cart again. She frowned as she looked at her selections.

“What’s wrong?” asked Cassandra.

“Nothing. I just don’t want some stranger looking at what I buy,” explained Nellie.

“What difference does it make?”

“I don’t want anyone knowing what deodorant I use, or my food choices or if I need hemorrhoid cream,” said Nellie.

Cassandra put her hand on Nellie’s arm and looked concerned. “Have they flared up again?”

“No. That’s not the point. I don’t want my personal business paraded in front of someone making minimum wage,” said Nellie.

“That’s what I call a First World problem,” laughed Cassandra.

“Privacy isn’t a First World problem.”

“Owning enough to make privacy a concern certainly is,” said Cassandra.

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“If you’re too poor to own anything, even your identity has no value,” said Cassandra.

Nellie looked shocked. “That’s a terrible thing to say. Everyone has value.”

“You’d hope so, but in a lot of places, life is cheap.”

“I’m not sure I believe you, said Nellie.

“Really? Try being a woman in a country where women are considered property.”

Nellie pushed her cart quietly down the aisle past a sales display for body wash.

Cassandra laughed to herself. “Just be thankful you’re in a place where you are valuable enough for privacy to matter.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, first world problems, flash fiction, humor, humour, privacy, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

