Proud Mothers

Unknown

“Two sugars and milk,” smiled Winnie as she set down a cup of tea in front of Nancy.

“Thank you, dear,” replied Nancy. She smiled back at her cousin. The two had tea together every Tuesday for the past thirty-seven years.

“How are things?” asked Winnie.

“Have I told you about my Stanley? He’s finally found a career he loves. I think he may have found his true calling,” gushed Nancy.

Winnie laughed. “I wish Eddie would do that. He’s threatening to move back home again.”

“Not again. How many times has it been?”

Winnie looked up as she thought. “Well, after his bachelor’s degree. The first one.”

“In music history?”

“Yes. Then again after his computer science degree, and after his masters in computer science. And now after his PhD,” said Winnie. She sighed. “At least he’s doctor Eddie.”

“I’m proud of him,” said Nancy.

“Me too. Now he talks about becoming a plumber,” said Winnie. Both ladies giggled.

Nancy took a sip of tea. “Stanley found a career that really suits him.”

“What’s he doing?”

“He’s a professional sleeper. It’s part of the research and development department of a mattress company.”

“Oh. That sounds, um, fulfilling,” said Winnie.

“It is. You know, he’s always been a good sleeper. Remember when he slept through the fire alarm at the church youth lock-in? It’s great to see him use his talents,” said Nancy.

“I’ve never thought of sleeping as a talent.”

“It’s a real discipline. He has to really take care of himself. No caffeine, no alcohol, regular exercise. He’s never been is such good shape,” said Nancy, proudly.

Winnie sipped her tea as her mind wandered.

“Penny for your thoughts,” said Nancy.

“Oh nothing. Just thinking about how life doesn’t make sense.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in calling, career, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, life, mother, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Proud Mothers

  1. A professional sleeper? That’s a new one. I like the idea. Interesting take on different people’s interpretation of success.

  2. hotwheelzzzz says:

    Sounds lije a sweet job where do I sighn up lol

Leave a Reply

