The Broken Cell Phone Conundrum

images

Evelyn was visibly annoyed when she arrived home from work.

“I’ve been trying to get a hold of you all day,” she said to her husband, Spencer.

“I’m sorry. My phone died,” said Spencer. He offered his wife a consoling hug but was brusquely rebuffed.

“What? I said I’m sorry,” said Spencer, defensively. “I’ll go to the mall tonight and get a new one.”

“I could’ve died today and you’d have no idea.”

“Did you?”

“Did I what?”

“Die today. Am I taking to your ghost, returned from the netherworld to haunt me for the rest of my life?”

“Spencer, I’m serious.”

“What do you want me to say? I didn’t plan for this to happen. To tell you the truth, it’s been a real headache not being able to get a hold of anyone,” said Spencer. He was acting more annoyed than he really felt, hoping to appease Evelyn.

Evelyn wasn’t impressed. “Whatever. You hate cell phones.”

“There’s a big difference between hating them and needing them.”

“You always look for the easy way out of things. Remember when you drove on the sidewalk just so you wouldn’t have to get out of the truck to put a letter in the mailbox?”

“How can I forget? You won’t let me. Maybe I broke my phone just so I don’t get reminded of it again?”

“You’re overreacting,” sniffed Evelyn.

“Says the woman who could’ve died today,” snapped Spencer, sarcastically.

The two stared at each other in icy silence.

“You wish I was dead,” said Evelyn. She burst into tears and ran to the bedroom.

Spencer stood in the hallway, shaking his head. He had no idea what just happened, and at this point he did’t care.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in cell phone, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, husband, short fiction, short story, story, wife and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Broken Cell Phone Conundrum

  1. Elan Mudrow says:

    Nice! I like your writing style!
    check out:
    tricksterchase.com

  2. Tony Trudgian says:

    You always told me that writers should write about what they have experienced! LOL

Leave a Reply

