Group Astronomy

images

“I don’t want to be a team player. Everyone in my group is useless. They don’t do any work. I do it all,” whined Emily. She heard a tone in her voice that even she found unsympathetic.

“I hear what you’re saying, Emily. I validate your feelings. But don’t you think we all work in different ways? Some people approach challenges from different angles. They offer fresh perspectives. Don’t you find that helpful?” asked Dr. Stalwart.

Emily thought his tone sounded more condescending than supportive.

“No. I’m an astronomer. I sit and look at stars all night. Why do I need to be on a team?” demanded Emily.

Dr. Stalwart’s brows wrinkled as he thought. “They could help keep you focused and awake.”

“I’m an insomniac.”

“What if you see something you don’t recognize?”

“Everything I observe is recorded and transmitted to observatories around the world. Besides, I enjoy my time alone. It’s one of the perks of the job.”

Dr. Stalwart sighed at his failed attempts to diffuse the situation.

“Emily, you’re on a team. It’s how this institution operates. That’s final,” announced Dr. Stalwart. He turned on his heels and stormed off.

A frustrated Emily slumped on a stool. “Academia is an introvert’s hell.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in academia, astronomy, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, introvert, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Group Astronomy

  1. Elan Mudrow says:

    Nice! I like your writing!
    check out:
    tricksterchase.com

Leave a Reply

