Men in Trees

images

Every evening Rhea and her schnauzer, Buster Sparklepants, enjoyed a stroll through Eastport Park. Last Friday the two came upon a man climbing a giant maple tree. With her hand firmly on her pocket-sized bottle of mace, she submitted to her curiosity.

“Um, excuse me? Why are you climbing a tree?”

The man looked down on a young woman with her barking dog. “For the adventure,” he said.

“Why not take a trip around the world or something?”

“Can you afford to do that?”

“Good point,” said Rhea.

Rhea watched the man climb from branch to branch. “How high are you going?”

The man took in the panoramic view, then looked down at Rhea. “As high as I can.”

“Do you do this a lot?”

“Not as much as I’d like,” said the man.

“So, this is like, your hobby?”

The man continued to climb. “I guess you could say that.”

“If you don’t mind me asking, why tree climbing?”

Again the man stopped and looked down. He glared at Rhea. “Don’t you have hobbies?”

Rhea shrugged. “I walk Buster every day.”

“Well, there you go,” said the man.

“What are you going to do when you’ve climbed this tree?”

“Find a higher tree.”

“Is it like climbing mountains?”

“I’ve never climbed a mountain.”

“Sure, okay. But how high do you want to go?”

The man sighed. “High enough that I can’t talk to people on the ground.”

Buster Sparklepants ran around and around Rhea’s legs. She stumbled into the tree and fell. Rhea untangle the leash and she dusted herself off. Buster pulled Rhea down the path. “Why are all the interesting men are always out of reach?” she said to Buster.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in dog walking, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, park, romance, short fiction, short story, story, tree climbing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Men in Trees

  1. David Howell says:

    Lol. Great post! You hooked me 🙂

Leave a Reply

