Snow is a 4-Letter Word

images-2

Vicki burst through the front door, then locked it behind her.

“I hate winter!” she shouted.

Lucius poked his head from the kitchen. “How was your day?”

“Brutal. Awful. You’ll never guessed what happened.”

“You got in a fight with winter?”

“You have no idea,” declared Vicki.

“Tell me all about it,” said Lucius, sympathetically.

Vicki flopped onto a dining room chair. “I went to the drug store after work to pick up a few things.”

“Did you remember shampoo?”

“Yes. Anyway, I was almost finished paying when my phone rang. Have you ever answered the phone and had no idea who you were talking to? Here I am, talking to this guy and he obviously knows me, but I can’t figure out who he is.”

“Was it your first husband?”

“Funny. No. I’m putting my bags in the trunk and I notice black crud in that hollowed out part under the trunk. You know, where all the leaves and stuff collect? I’m still talking to this guy on the phone, but for some reason I decided to pull that black crud and leaves out and flick it on the ground. Next thing I know, a flock of seagulls are all over me.”

“Where did the seagulls come from?”

“I don’t know. But they were there. It was like a scene from ‘The Birds’. It was creepy. Their wings were hitting me and they were pecking at the black crud,” said Vicki.

“I’m sorry,” said Lucius has he wrapped his arms around Vicki. “What about the guy on the phone?”

“The birds were squawking so loud it was hard to hear, so I told him I had a late meeting and had to get off the phone.”

“Did he buy it?”

“I don’t know but that’s not the worst of it. The wind was blowing and snow was falling and one of the seagulls flew up my skirt! I was violated by a rat with wings.”

Lucius suppressed a smile.

“It was the worst. I hate winter,” said Vicki.

“I know. Snow is a four-letter word.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in 4-letter word, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, phone, seagull, short fiction, short story, snow, story, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow is a 4-Letter Word

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    Hilarious! LOL at the seagull flying up her skirt, what a visual!!!! Better clean out your wife’s trunk!!!

Leave a Reply

