Funkily Dysfunctional

iu.gif

Leah arrived back at school to find Becky waiting for her.

“Anything exciting happen with you this Christmas?” asked Becky.

“Just the normal Christmas-y stuff we always do. What about you?”

“My dad happened.”

“I smell as story,” said Leah.

“You have no idea. So, I asked for a PlayBox 4 gaming console from my parents. I totally knew they were gonna get me one. On Christmas morning, I discovered a present that’s the exact dimensions of the PlayBox under the tree. I unwrapped it, discovered the box and was totally psyched. When I opened it up, it was filled with old books,” said Becky.

“Are you serious? That’s so mean,” sympathized Leah.

“Dad said the books were better for my brain.”

“He’s a total fossil. What did you do?”

Becky smiled. “Nothing. But his birthday’s coming up, so I’m gonna post his obituary online.”

Leah shook her head. “Your family is so weird.”

“I prefer the term, ‘funkily dysfunctional’.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in Christmas, dad, dysfunctional, family, father, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, practical joke, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Funkily Dysfunctional

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    Um! Dead man walking!

Leave a Reply

