Sibling Rivalry

iur

Elaine entered the office, shaking with anger.

“What’s wrong?” asked Julia.

“My idiot brother Derek stole my diary posted it online,” snapped Elaine.

“You keep a diary?”

“I used to, when I was a teenager. It’s filled with everything. All my deepest, darkest thoughts. He started a blog called ‘The Teenaged Pain of Elaine’. I could kill him,” said Elaine.

Julia tapped away on her computer. “Here it is. Oh wow,” she said.

“Are you reading it?” squealed Elaine.

“Just the latest post, ‘Ten Reasons I want to my first to be Kyle’. Who’s Kyle?”

Elaine shoved Julia and her rolling chair away from the desk. “Don’t read that! I can’t believe you.”

“From what I read, it’s pretty good. I think something like this is cathartic. Kinda like ‘Mortified’. That’s where people stand in front of strangers and read their funniest adolescent diaries. I hear it’s pretty funny,” said Julia.

“Are you suggesting my brother is trying to help me?”

Julia shrugged. “I think people tend to be good, generally.”

“They’re not.”

“Are you saying people are evil?”

“No,” snarled Elaine. “People are selfish.”

“I hadn’t thought of that.”

“Yeah? Well, you should. People only care about number one. And when seven billion people all think they’re number one, it makes a lot of number two.”

“So what do you think’s motivating your brother?”

“He wants to see me squirm. Probably because I posted pictures of him on Instagram.”

“What kind of pictures?”

“Let’s just say, I call my page ‘Full Moon’,” Elaine said with a sly smile.

“You come from one messed up family,” said Julia.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in blog, diary, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, Instagram, Mortified, short story, sibling rivalry, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sibling Rivalry

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    Gives a whole new meaning to “exposed”!

Leave a Reply

