The Diorama

iu

Gwen approached Emma in the school yard a few minutes before the end of the day. The two first met when their children started kindergarten together. They referred to themselves as the ‘Parental Support Group’.

“I’m excited. I think Amy’s getting her diorama back today,” said Gwen.

“Is that today? I’m not looking forward to getting mine back,” said Emma.

“I worked hard on Amy’s. I wanna see grade I get,” said Gwen.

Emma laughed. “Listen to us. We’re acting like they’re our projects.”

“I did more on that assignment that Amy. I want my ‘A’.”

“Me, too. When Clinton picked dolphins for his diorama, I choked. I had no idea how to make it look like it was underwater. I must of spent a week just figuring that out,” said Emma.

“I have to admit, yours looked awesome.”

Emma gave a small bow and said, “Thank-you. And your rainforest was stunning.”

“I got the trees from a model train set,” said Gwen.

The two stood silently for a few seconds, nodding at other parents as they gathered to pick up their children.

“You know, I wonder if this project helped Amy and Clinton. I mean, did they really learn anything?” asked Emma. “What does an ‘A’ really mean if we did all the work?”

“Forget them. I wasn’t that good of a student the first time around, so I’m really enjoying this,” said Gwen. “If our kids want to learn, let them wait ‘til they’re parents, like us.”

At that moment the school bell rang and the yard filled with relieved students.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in diorama, education, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, parent, parenting, school, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Diorama

  1. Anne says:

    Very true. I am a better student as an adult.

  2. Tony Trudgian says:

    Maybe it’s because as an adult we want to do them, as opposed to a student who has to do them! LOL!

Leave a Reply

