Cabin Fever

Yarn-Bombing-4-e1291587521580

“It’s been a long winter,” said Kyle. The other two guys around the table seemed too focused on their cards to notice him. “Okay, I’ll bite. How long is it?” asked Sid. “People are getting major cabin fever. Remember last week when it didn’t get above minus 20? I work with a guy that wore shorts the whole week,” said Kyle. Brooks grunted. “It’s been such a long winter, I caught my wife trying to buy property in South America,” he said. Sid shook his head at the others in disgust. “That’s not cabin fever. You don’t know cabin fever like I know cabin fever.” He looked back at his cards. Kyle and Brooks looked at each other dumbfound. “Well?” said Brooks. “Yeah, well?” asked Kyle. “I’ll tell you, but I must warn you. It’s horrible,” said Sid. He shifted uncomfortably in his chair. “What is it?” asked Kyle. “My wife and kids took up knitting,” said Sid. “That’s it?” asked Brooks. “Lame,” said Kyle. “No. Listen. They’re into ‘organic’ knitting. That means only real wool. Nothing fake,” explained Sid. He scratched himself. “And they’ve yarn bombed everything in the house. Even the dog.” “I had to stop my wife from buying land in Ecuador. Who cares about a few woolen turtlenecks,” said Brooks. Sid smacked the table and glared at Kyle and Brooks. “I have two words for you: ‘wool underwear’.” Brooks threw his cards on the table. A tear formed in his eye. Kyle went pale. “The horror.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in cabin fever, cards, Ecuador, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, South America, story, Winter, wool, yarn bomb and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cabin Fever

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    That reminds me that the toughest girls in the world live in Hamilton, “burlap pantyhose.”

Leave a Reply

