The Oscars And Medieval History

iu

(Overheard in a library.)

“Did you watch the Oscars Sunday night? One of the winners was going on about how society is unfair.”

“Stop.”

“What?”

“I don’t want to hear about it.”

“Who peed in your Corn Flakes this morning?”

“Nobody. I just don’t wanna hear what some actor has to say about society. As though they’ve got something interesting to say about anything.”

“Sorry I brought it up.”

“No, really. Why should we care about some entertainer’s opinion. Are they authorities? No. Have they studied economics or science or politics? Probably not. If they did, they wouldn’t be movie stars, or worse yet, musicians.”

“Bitter much?”

“Hey, you started this.”

“I was just making conversation. You’re in full rant mode.”

“Answer me this question. Other than being famous, why do we ever care about these people? I say, entertain me, then go away. If I want an actual opinion on a real issue, I’ll ask a real expert. Someone intelligent and thoughtful. Not some entertainment monkey.”

“Whoa, calm down.”

“These were the egomaniacs in high school who were trying to connect with trees and stuff. They weren’t the smart kids. They were barely smarter than the jocks, and they had the excuse that they were suffering from concussions.”

“I’m walking away now.”

“It just frosts my preserves that these people are treated like they’re better than everyone else. I have a PhD. I studied economic growth theory for ten years. Does anyone ask me what I think about the great issues of our society? But I have to listen to these freaks wax philosophical about everything. It’s too much. Too much. I’m sorry.”

“Hey, it’s okay. I get it. I have a PhD, too, remember? Mine’s in English Renaissance History.”

“That’s priceless. You may even be more irrelevant than an actor. Seriously. If I have a question about fourteenth century history, you’ll be the first person I call.”

“And you wonder why nobody cares what you think.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in economics, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, library, medieval history, PhD, short fiction, short story, social activist, society, story, The Oscars and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Oscars And Medieval History

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    I fully agree! There’s so much “phoniness” in Tinseltown, it makes want to gag! Love the banter!

Leave a Reply

