Hope Through Tennis

iur

When Lilith walked into the family room, she was stunned by what she discovered. “Why are you watching tennis? You hate tennis,” she said.

“That’s not true,” said Vernon.

“In the eight years I’ve known you, I have never even heard you mention the word ‘tennis’, much less watch it on TV,” said Lilith.

“You’re exaggerating,” said Vernon.

“Not once. Ever.”

Vernon rolled his eyes. “People change, you know.”

“Yeah, after a stroke or a blow to the head or something. Are you having a stroke? Should I call an ambulance?” asked Lilith.

Vernon sighed.

“Okay, fine. Tell me what’s got you so interested in tennis,” asked Lilith.

Vernon sighed again. “Sit,” he said, patting the cushion on the couch.

Lilith sat, leaning toward the TV. “What am I looking at?”

“First of all, look outside. What do you see?”

“Snowbanks. Ice. Cold.”

“Okay, now look at the TV. It’s a tournament in Monaco. What do you see?”

“It’s sunny. It looks hot. Oh, I get it,” said Lilith.

“I’m looking for hope that summer is eventually coming,” said Vernon.

Lilith sat back on the couch and watched along with Vernon. After a few minutes, Lilith said, “You know, this is interesting.”

Vernon smiled. “I know, right?”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in fiction, flash fiction, hope, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story, summer, tennis, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hope Through Tennis

  1. Tony Trudgian says:

    Um! Tennis; golf?? Why don’t we try darts?

Leave a Reply

