Return of the Dancing Cowboy

iu

Clive burst through the front door of the apartment. “It’s that time of year,” he announced.

“For your annual shower?” asked Julie.

“No,” said Clive.

“A new hairstyle?”

Clive gave Julie a scowl. “Know what? Forget it.”

Julie laughed. “I’m sorry. Tell me.”

“Nuh uh,” grumbled Clive.

“C’mon. Don’t be mad.”

“Too late for that.”

“Alright,” warned Julie. “Here comes the sulking.”

“I don’t sulk,” said Clive as he plunked on the couch.

Julie rolled her eyes. “Yeah, right. Whatever.”

“What’re you talking about? I’ve never sulked in my life.”

“Let’s call your mother and see what she says.”

“Don’t you dare,” said Clive.

“Why not? It’s because you know I’m right.”

“No, it’s because she’ll take your side. She always does.”

“She does not,” said Julie.

“Does so. She thinks you can do no wrong. She constantly tells me that marrying you was the best decision I ever made.”

“I can’t help it if she’s wise beyond her years,” laughed Julie.

“It means she’s nutty as a fruitcake. Admit it. You two talk about me when I’m not around.”

Julie smiled. “I admit nothing.”

“You know what? I’m gonna wander the streets and find the dancing cowboy. Maybe I’ll find out why he’s always dancing. It’s probably because he’s single,” said Clive.

“Oh, is the dancing cowboy back? I haven’t seen him out all winter.”

“As a matter of fact, he is. I saw him when I was coming home from work. The city’s colourful characters are back. That’s what I was gonna tell you before you got all mouthy.”

“It must be that time of year,” said Julie.

Clive’s face went beet red and the veins on his neck stuck out. “That’s what I said!”

“Ouch. Someone’s got Spring fever,” laughed Julie.

Clive grabbed his coat and stomped to the door. “No, I’m just sick of you,” he said, just as he slammed the door behind him.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in dancing cowboy, fiction, fight, flash fiction, humor, humour, marriage, relationships, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

