Advice From the Business Guru

iu

It was lunchtime in the business district. Crowds of well dressed men and women flocked outside to enjoy the first beautiful day of Spring.

“Did you know that grey is the most popular colour of car?” declared Preston.

“I don’t know about that. I’m pretty sure it’s white,” said Burt.

“Trust me, it’s grey,” said Preston.

“Okay,” said Burt, skeptically. He pulled out his smartphone.

“Why even bring it up?” asked Natalie.

“I have a theory,” said Preston.

“Ah,” said Natalie, interrupting Preston. She hoped it would shut him up.

“The popularity of grey has to do with the desire of most people to live anonymously,” explained Preston.

“That’d be true if grey was the most popular colour of car,” said Burt.

“It is. Trust me,” said Preston.

“Maybe it’s because grey hides dirt better,” said Natalie.

“That makes more sense than the psychobabble Preston’s been spewing,” said Burt.

“What d’ya mean?” asked Preston.

“You’ve developed an entire theory based on a false assumption. See?” said Burt, holding up his smartphone. “The most common colour of car is white.”

“What do you have to say now, smart guy?” asked Natalie, hoping this time Preston would shut up.

“Wait, this isn’t right. You’re supposed to believe me. ‘Walk with purpose, speak with authority and people will believe you’. That what it says in the latest self-help business book I read,” complained Preston.

“That’s only true if the people you’re talking to don’t have access to the internet,” laughed Burt.

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in advice, business, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, story and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

