A Steaming Cup of Crazy

Cafe-Patio

Sitting on the patio of Morton’s Café, Hector breathed deeply. “I love Spring in the city.”

“Nothing like stepping through freshly thawed garbage,” said Stewart.

“Or the smell. Nasty,” added Ramona.

“You two are pessimists,” said Hector. “And look at all the people on the street. It’s like a long winter hibernation is over.”

“Because there’s nothing like a group of crazy people to sell the benefits of a city,” scoffed Ramona.

“What’s wrong with people? People are great,” said Hector.

“Sure, people are great. It’s the crazy I can’t handle,” said Ramona.

“You see crazy, I see eccentric,” said Hector.

Stewart shook his head at Hector. “Yesterday I watched a guy stand there and applaud every time an automatic door opened.”

“Maybe he appreciates technology,” said Hector.

“Maybe he thinks invisible men open the door for people,” said Stewart.

“What about this? Yesterday I watched an obese woman do ballet while holding onto the fence outside Starbucks,” said Ramona.

“Maybe she was dancing like no one was watching,” said Hector.

“Everybody was watching. Did I mention she was wearing yoga pants?” said Ramona.

“Ew,” said Stewart.

“Everyone is beautiful in their own way,” said Hector.

At that moment, a ragged looking man approached the table, picked up Hector’s plate and walked away.

“That eccentric enough for you?” asked Ramona.

Hector broke out in hilarious laughter. “That was awesome! Did you see that? You can’t make that stuff up. Ha!”

Stewart leaned over to Ramona and whispered, “I always figured he’d be the first of us to crack.”

About vanyieck

There is nothing about me that is more interesting than you. I am a man. I have a wife and family. I have a career. I have two dogs. I
This entry was posted in city, crazy, fiction, flash fiction, humor, humour, short fiction, short story, Spring, story and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Steaming Cup of Crazy

  1. writingbolt says:

    Intriguing more than humorous. Nice twist at the end with Hector becoming crazy in the eyes of his companions.

  2. Tony Trudgian says:

    Thanks for giving me my first “chuckle” of the day! No we can’t make that stuff up.

Leave a Reply

